patiodadio

Feb 28, 2014
KY
Detector(s) used
Whites 4000D
Garrett ATPro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I know I may be opening up a can of worms but I am thinking about getting a new detector. I have a Whites 4000D that I got new back in the early 80's. So I really need a new machine. I am leaning toward the AT Pro but I really am open to suggestions. I am retired and can't really afford a top of the line $$$ job so I am looking at mid range priced machines.

gbpackrfan1990

Feb 2, 2012
Virginia
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tejan; Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I love my tesoro Tejon, but I also have an AT pro, both are good machines. I am still learning the PRO

bigfoot1

Silver Member
Nov 1, 2011
so.cal.mtns.
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
garrett,minelab,fisher,,,atp current weapon of choice
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
lovin the atpro...great choice..lotta bang for the buck

Mach1Pilot

Silver Member
Jul 21, 2008
Bedford County, PA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab, Fisher, Teknetics and more!
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You are going to get a ton of suggestions... Each one will have their favorite to suggest. :)

What I call the mid-price range has a couple of really capable machines.... You already mentioned the AT Pro, but don't forget the AT Gold too. Also in that range are the Teknetics T2 Classic, Makro Racer, and the Minelab X-Terra 705. Lots of choices... What type of hunting do you intend to do?

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
The AT pro is a good detector. Many Tneter's use that rig. I looked online and see a Fisher F70 for $375. Are you in southern KY? There is also a F75SE with all the gear i.e. pinpointer, digging tool etc. for $750. , I also agree that the T2 new for $499 is the best bang for the buck if you're buying new.