What type of discrimination would you use?

MDmom2

Greenie
Oct 5, 2015
Maine
Detector(s) used
Fisher F22, Garrett Pro Pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm new to metal detecting and still learning, so forgive my (maybe) elementary question. I have a old homestead on my property that is believed to have burned down in a wildfire in 1947. Other than that we don't know much about it. I typically take my kids out in the yard "treasure hunting" with me, but have yet to make my way into or around the foundation simply due to the safety of my kids. There's an open well built into the foundation and some poison ivy I just don't want them getting into. I have an opportunity on Monday to finally get in there. So to get to my question...in a place like this, what would you use for discrimination? We've already found some broken horse shoes and a beautiful dandy button in the yard (along with lots of other unidentified items), so I can't wait to see what's waiting for me to find closer to the foundation itself. I have a Fisher F22 and a Garrett pro pin pointer if that helps to know. Thank!

OP
OP
M

MDmom2

Greenie
Oct 5, 2015
Maine
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
To add... I don't want to spend my time doing nothing but digging up old nails but also don't want to missing something very cool. However, when we moved in (way before I had any intent to detect here) we found a rather large bucket of nails. Makes me think someone may have already been there. :(

lastleg

Silver Member
Feb 3, 2008
I am technically against discrimination. That is I try not to pick a frequency indiscriminately.

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2