Bounty Hunter LR Pro up from a Discovery 1100

TommyBoy58

Sep 19, 2015
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Land Ranger PRO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys first off I'm a land surveyor (and an author) so I wanted say those one inch iron pipes driven vertically are survey marks so please don't pull them or disturb them. If you do disturb them by all means don't put it back. Leave it horizontally on the ground as they are set with high precision and it is much better to have it gone than to be a few inches off. Thank you.

I used a discovery 1100 for about 7 years and loved it and thought what could be better. I found everything with it and my ear had heard the target so many times I knew instantly what a good target was and what was a pull tab. Nickels no problem. People would say you found that! with that! And they would say how do you know what the target is with no target ID? (the 1100 has 3 arrows, low, mid, high). My answer was, "I just do."

Well I knew because my brain had categorized (and ingrained) the subtle changes in tone because I dug so many targets over the years. I just simply knew. The target ID was in my brain, a subtle tone change I would call out the target and it was so. Believe it or not.

Now my brother has a high end "white's" though 20 years old and I got jealous of the "numbers game" and all the vids on you-tube so I just couldn't pass the chance to get into this game (and I love bounty hunters) for $250 bucks. I had to have the LR pro.

Moving up from 3 arrows for target ID's to this beautiful machine was breath taking. Well guess what? I hated it for the first 2 hours. Came really close to putting it in the car and grabbing my 1100 but my brother said to give it time bro. All the numbers and arcs and sounds coupled with the newer DD coil was just blowing my mind. It was sensory overload! I felt like I was holding on to a flashing Christmas tree in a lightning storm! I hated it.