Does Anyone Get Ridiculed While Detecting?

Chizzy

Bronze Member
Feb 11, 2015
North Central PA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Compadre, Tesoro Vaquero, Garrett Pro-Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This may just be one person venting, but it may also be a different perspective. I frequently hear comments, sometimes directly, sometimes indirectly about "finding gold" or "finding treasure". I fluff it off and go about my business of listening for the next good signal.........
I need to remind myself that everyone needs a link to the past. People may not readily believe that, but they do. Take a look around the homes of anyone. As a flooring contractor, I get to see the inside of many homes. Everyone, without exception, has a family heirloom. It is usually a piece of furniture passed from generation to generation........old family photographs, some of historical significance (one customer had photos of a family member who was part of the crew of the Enola Gay posed alongside the plane) adorn the walls..........it might be jewelry.......a painting.......or some seemingly insignificant do-dad. But, those links to the past are there...........
There is an inherent need for all of us to hang on to the past. Most people accept (consciously or subconsciously) that what they have is enough to satisfy that bond to their ancestors.
As treasure hunters, we reject that notion and continue the search for historical artifacts/relics/coins that will not only bring us closer to the past, but will also enable future generations to connect not only with our ancestral heritage, but with our generation as well.
I don't know if reminding those who ridicule about their own links to the past would do much good, but........... everyone acknowledges "the good old days".

So ends this rambling rant............

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting