The dangers of detecting

A

Amex

I'm new to this, and truthfully don't even have a metal detector yet, so this might make some of you laugh... But its a question I do have..

I've been reading the forum and stories of people that detect, and I see alot of people who have their detector in the car and stop when they see a place, or people who drive around looking for interesting areas. It seems like a lot of the places to find relics and such are off the beaten path so to speak.

I'm wondering though, when you find these areas, do any of you research the place to see if it's safe?

I mention this because near me, is an old abandoned textile and mill plant. Its big, abandoned and run down and was once heavily traveled so it would seem like a good place to go detecting.. But, it has also been a place where a few arrests have happened over the years and there have been reports people heading there to use drugs and drink. So knowing that, I probably wouldn't go there. At least not alone.

But, from the perspective of those that drive around and spot a place... Would you just hop out of your car and head over to it? Or would you maybe do a little research before exploring?

And for those of you who search the forests and waterways.. Do you take any precautions when it comes to wildlife, or getting lost in the woods?

I know that personally, if I buy a detector, Ill mostly be out on my own. So I want to be as safe as I can. I live in the middle of nowhere, and know pretty much everybody in my town. Its a very safe area. But, even so, I'm wondering what kind of precautions everyone takes, if any..

S

stefen

If you come across an old farm or other interesting site, its probably best to not go alone...in case you fall into a well or encounter any type of hazard.

Rabbits and squirrels are not a problem unless they have been trained to attack (rambo rabbits), however, if you are in an area that is known to have wild dogs, bears or cougars, a side arm is advised.