At Gold and 1st time experience today.

Hiball76

Jul 17, 2016
Missouri
Detector(s) used
Garrett At gold, equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm still New to metal detecting, I'm getting lots of practice of pin pointing and securing lots of buried scrap. Lol... Today though my detector threw me for a loop, I've dug quite a few pull tabs, pop tops in the 60's but today when swinging away I had a solid 84-85, I could tell it wasn't very deep and to my surprise it was a pop top. I removed the culprit, rechecked the hole and the target was gone. At the risk of showing my inexperience, I decided to ask anyways, why such a high target Id? Improper ground balancing? I did a air test and could repeatedly pull a solid 85.

image.jpeg

Thanks in advance, I know some questions probably get repeatedly asked.

Sorry

CoinFetcher

Bronze Member
Apr 29, 2012
Left coast
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Love to treasure hunt
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That's just what it rings in at - 85.

Not every pop top, pull tab, or bottle cap will have the same number. A quarter dollar can be a 81, or a 93. JUST DEPENDS.

Less analsys, more swinging. Onto the next target :)

relic nut

Silver Member
Nov 29, 2014
VA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030 TELEKINETICS 4000 GARRET AT PRO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
There are lots of factors that affect your vdi. Depth, position, other objects near by. Although it's very helpful, don't depend on it for an ID or you will miss a lot of good stuff. I focus more on sound and my gut. Just saying.
Welcome to a great forum.

HH RN

OP
OP
H

Hiball76

Jul 17, 2016
Missouri
Detector(s) used
Garrett At gold, equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That's just what it rings in at - 85.

Not every pop top, pull tab, or bottle cap will have the same number. A quarter dollar can be a 81, or a 93. JUST DEPENDS.

Less analsys, more swinging. Onto the next target :)