Tips On Buying My First Metal Detector

Deco

Tenderfoot
Nov 13, 2016
Texas
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to the hobby and new to the forum - looking to buy my first metal detector. Anybody have any suggestions on a good, moderately-priced (but not crazy expensive) beginners metal detector that'll be easy for me to learn and still useful for me as my skills improve? 8-)

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
tn_md.gif
Welcome Aboard! Take a look at Sub-Forums: Texas for information (i.e., clubs, etc.) directly related to your state.
2nd - Whatever you finally decide on - please consider buying one from one of
tn_02.gif
's Supporting Vendors.
metal_detector.gif
3rd - I am sure member(s) will jump in shortly with great suggestions.

Last edited:

Diggin-N-Dumps

Gold Member
Sep 9, 2009
Fort Worth,Texas
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030 / AT PRO / Etrac w/ NEL
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
tn_md.gif
1st - Noticed this is your very first post - so, Welcome Aboard! You didn't list your state (or country) in your profile. So, you might consider jumping over to Sub-Forums: Select Your Area.... and selecting location information (i.e., clubs, hunts, finds, legends, maps, etc.) directly related to your state (or country).
2nd - Whatever you finally decide on - please consider buying one from one of
tn_02.gif
's Supporting Vendors.
metal_detector.gif
3rd - I am sure member(s) will jump in shortly with great suggestions.

She is from the beautiful country of Texas!!

Back-of-the-boat

Gold Member
Apr 18, 2013
California
Detector(s) used
AT GOLD/Garrett /C.Scope cs4PI/Garrett(carrot) pro pointer/ 5x8 double d coil and sniper coil/Lesche digger/Lesche "T" handle shovel.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I think the Garrett AT pro would be a good beginning detector it is very easy to learn and the vendors on here have package deals that get you started well.

Loco-Digger

Gold Member