Questions from a newbie

Beachbum74

Tenderfoot
Jul 12, 2007
Myrtle Beach, SC
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Sand Shark / White's Surf 11
I am new to the hobby and have a few questions. I live in Myrtle Beach,SC and I have a Whites Surf 11. Where is the best place on the beach to look and when is the best times to search. I also want to get into the ocean since my metal detector is water proof and any techniques and ideas for someone new in this area would also be appreciated. I thought that arround the bigger hotels would be the best place to look and figure late in the evening after the crowds have left for the day. This seems logical to me but I figure some of you guys that have been in this awhile may have better suggestions. Also I have thought about the old Air Force Base would be a good place to check arround but do not know what the laws are about public areas. Also what are the best tools to use for areas away from the beach to use. I am looking for the best things to use to do less damage but also be the easiest to use. I guess I have alot of questions but I figure someone out there will help me out. Thanks in advance. Jeff

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Beachbum,

Welcome to Treasurenet and to the hobby. Be forewarned, it is V-e-r-y a-d-d-i-c-t-i-v-e.

One of the best things you can do starting out is to go to this link http://thegoldenolde.com/ and read the beach and water hunting section, read it over and over, it will greatly help you. After your done return and ask questions on things you don't understand. There are many who will help you , but the goldenolde will give you a good start.....

B

BIG61AL