FindersKeepers74

Tenderfoot
Jan 9, 2017
Kansas
Detector(s) used
Fisher F22
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am very new to the metal detecting realm. I am looking at buying a Garrett Ace 200 as my first detector. Has good reviews on Amazon and the price is right but I would like to hear from people that have been doing this for awhile. I appreciate any input, positive or negative. Thanks for your time.

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Like most I started with a cheaper model. In 60 days it paid for itself and I upgraded to a mid level detector. 4 to 5 months later the mid level paid for itself and I upgraded to a top of the line detector. If you know that you are going to enjoy the hobby, I'd review the detectors in the mid range at least. If you are on the fence about this hobby then going with a lower priced detector is where you should start. If the detecting bug doesn't bite then you are not out that much. I am a coin shooter that appreciates a cool relic and some nice jewelry. My preference is to hunt older yards in town, but I do hunt parks, schools, fair grounds and other public spaces. What will you be looking for primarily? Are you a relic hunter, coin shooter, or jewelry guy? Where do you plan on hunting? (Parks, yards, fields, woods, fresh water beaches)? If you are a jewelry guy you want a higher frequency detector like 19khz, if you are a relic guy, you want a detector that goes deep, if you are a coin shooter you should get a detector that runs between 5khz and 13 knz.

One of the easiest detectors to use in my opinion is the Fisher F2 and they are selling less than $200 with multiple coils. I have one as a loaner and I can get someone up and running with as little as 5 minutes of instruction.