04gto

Tenderfoot
Jan 23, 2017
Southern California
Detector(s) used
Fisher Gold Bug 2, Teknetics T2 LTD.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am still very new to this hobby, but I am already addicted. My only other addictions being fast cars and off road vehicles(!). Unless I have been off roading or something I keep my cars very clean. I am not super anal, but my car(s) is my sanctuary. I tend to take very good care of all my things, keep them maintained and clean as possible. Especially anything I put a lot of $$$$ cash into. Example I swap out the brakes on my Land Cruiser, I spray the tools with a little degreaser where necessary, wipe them down before putting them away.

Here is my curiosity of the day: Am I in the minority? I come home after a day out in the fields, I wipe down the T2 LTD and GB2. Also making sure there is no damage and any dirt ingress where it should not be. Just like I would my Land Cruiser after a long muddy trip. I have noticed from a lot of youtube vids and forum posts that more people tend to leave these very expensive instruments dirty when put away.

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
metal_detector.gif
You aren't alone. I am the same way - can't rest until everything has been wiped down!

relic nut

Silver Member
Nov 29, 2014
VA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030 TELEKINETICS 4000 GARRET AT PRO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Yep, metal detector is a tool and in many cases a big investment. You have to take care of your tools. I had a guy asked me once why I bother to clean my tools? " They'll just get dirty again trm". I said...." Why do you wipe your butt? It's just going to get dirty again"

HH RN

dsdigger

Bronze Member
Jan 5, 2017
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Detector(s) used