Buried Under the Old Oak Tree?

FeralMermaid

Jun 10, 2017
Best state in the whole damn Union.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm an extreme novice at metal detecting (just got my unit 2 days ago,) in fact I'm still not positive how to discern coins from nails yet on my BH Land Star. So bear with me.

However, I'm hunting my parents' acreage, and my mother has this notion that the mafia who came through the area (used to be a resort town on the way north) would bury treasure under oak trees. I personally haven't read anything to support this, but what do I know? Half joking, she told me to check out our old oaks. Well I did, and I got some very strong readings on either side of one.

I am curious, but it seems digging would be a hassle. It is just a stump now, about 4' diameter with overgrowth surrounding it. I'm trying to determine if a dig would be feasible, or worth it. In all metal mode, it starts buzzing loudly a from few inches up to the base of the stump, on either side of it. In notch and disc mode, I'm not getting any beeps, so it might be in an awkward spot, if not under the stump. It's in the gold range, but so is all the junk I've picked up so far.

Quite frankly, I'm stumped (sorry.) Is it worth trying to dig? Are there any techniques I can use to figure out whats giving off the readings? Is burying treasure under oaks really even a thing? Thanks!!

Last edited:

Truth

Gold Member
Apr 13, 2016
Abita Springs La....Born in New Orleans
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
EQUINOX 800
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I suggest digging it and finding out what it is. If it's good welcome to addiction if it's not get use to it :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

kingskid1611

Gold Member
Feb 23, 2015
Oklahoma
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting