Introduction and question

cessna152

Jun 12, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I just registered on this forum. I am 73 years old and retired. I have finally gotten all the kids educated and settled. After being away from detecting for about 30 years it's now my and my wife's turn to have some fun. Most of my detecting would take place in sandy washes and hills. Also some old homesteads on private lands. I'm just looking for interesting things (old cartridges, relics, and whatever comes along. Detectors have really changed since I last detected. I'd like to buy one that I could grow with. Being an engineer by trade, I understand the learning curve can be trying at times. I would rather buy a unit I could grow into rather than a simple one I would outgrow. Any suggestions. I understand that leaves things wide open for discussion.

tlane38003

Jan 6, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What's your budget

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

ChampFerguson/TN

Bronze Member
Nov 22, 2013
TN
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari .......... Minelab Excalibur II ....... ........Minelab CTX 3030
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Garrett ATP. Best value for the money. Only thing it doesn't do well is salt water/wet salty sand.

Remember: only MSRP is advertised. Talk to several dealers and see what the Real price is on any detector.

tlane38003

Jan 6, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Garrett ATP. Best value for the money. Only thing it doesn't do well is salt water/wet salty sand.

Remember: only MSRP is advertised. Talk to several dealers and see what the Real price is on any detector.