Why is treaure hunting so addictive?

Rothman

Jun 30, 2015
SW Pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
Xp Deus, Garrett Infinium LS, Bounty Hunter LRP
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've been doing this for a few years now and it only gets worse...

When I first started I thought this would just be a hobby.

I started out just metal detecting occasionally. Then more often.. and more often... Then I started gold panning.. and coin roll hunting... Now I obsess with checking every coin that's near me..

It's to the point where I walk around just looking at the ground. Not saying that's a bad thing, I've found two pieces of gold just scanning the area (one has 6 stones, diamonds?!).

This is like a sickness. I can definitely understand the gold fever thing, it's freakin real!

It can drive you crazy! It's an obsession! But to me it's so calming. :icon_thumright:

Anyone out there as crazy as me?

Am I alone?

Tpmetal

Silver Member
Jan 4, 2017
Western ny
Detector(s) used
equinox 800, Whites mx sport, Garrot carrot, bounty hunter time ranger
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've been doing this for a few years now and it only gets worse...

When I first started I thought this would just be a hobby.

I started out just metal detecting occasionally. Then more often.. and more often... Then I started gold panning.. and coin roll hunting... Now I obsess with checking every coin that's near me..

It's to the point where I walk around just looking at the ground. Not saying that's a bad thing, I've found two pieces of gold just scanning the area (one has 6 stones, diamonds?!).

This is like a sickness. I can definitely understand the gold fever thing, it's freakin real!

It can drive you crazy! It's an obsession! But to me it's so calming. :icon_thumright:

Anyone out there as crazy as me?

Am I alone?

Not alone at all, plenty of us just as crazy or crazier than you....

digger27

Bronze Member
May 18, 2011
Simple really...it actually is physically addictive.