How to get started detecting?

Inix

Dec 2, 2017
Texas
Primary Interest:
Other
Hello to all! I was wondering how you guys got started detecting. I have picked old properties and places well before American Pickers. I started in the 70's. Back then I worked with dealers that would give me a list of items that they were looking for. If I found them, I'd find the closest payphone to report my finds to them and an approximate price they would pay. Then if I could make a dollar or two I would make the purchase.

Well, back to my question. What is a good way to start detecting. I have access to quite a bit of land that has probably never been searched. I am an exterminator by trade and have good rapport with my customers. Some live in town, some on farms and ranches in North Texas. Many let me search their barns/attics for antiques, so I assume they would let me dig some holes on their property.

So, what kind of machine to buy for detecting that won't break me. Where to look, etc...

I love this site and look forward to any suggestions. Thanks!

Truth

Gold Member
Apr 13, 2016
Abita Springs La....Born in New Orleans
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
EQUINOX 800
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Welcome Inix from Southern Louisiana. It’s easy do research on what you’re locking for land and/or water that will let you know if you need a waterproof machine also what price range you’re looking for. You can get a used AT Pro at good prices right now due to the new AT Max that came out. The AT Pro is waterproof and very user friendly for a newbie and a great detector. Then once you get a machine watch some videos on YouTube to get a idea of it, then go to one of those awesome old properties you have access to and start swinging and digging. Dig, dig and dig some more, all signals to get idea of numbers and sound and soon you will find something that will have you hooked then obsessed like the rest off us. Good luck and Louisiana loves Texas!

Terry Soloman