New member - Amazing find/Lots of questions

blazerdog

Jan 20, 2018
northern california
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello -

Glad I came across this site. About me: I'm an electrician in No. California. Best job I ever had was as a Gold prospecting guide for 2 summers in the Sierra Nevada foothill. Lately, I split my time between the Sacramento Valley and some family owned property in Lake County, CA (about 60 miles west of Sacramento). A seasonal creek borders the property for about 700 feet. Last years heavy rains washed out about 700 square feet along the bank (also taking along with it 3 - 125 lb. steel beams from an old shed. I should mention that grade level to creek averages about 15 feet straight down. Knowing the beams where rusty and contained lead paint, I figured I had better remove them before they contaminated the creek. The closest access to the creek is about 300 ft. up from where the beams fell in (grade is only 8 ft. above creek here). So, I cut steps in so Sierra (my Golden Retriever) and I could get down. On my first trip down to the beams, I noticed what looked like a obsidian spear head sticking out of the bank about 3 ft. up. Thinking how cool that was, I looked around to see if I could find anything else. Not seeing anything, I headed down to the beams to try and figure out how to get them out and up the 15 ft. wall on my own. Over the course of days and trips, on my last trip down, a round black object caught my eye. Turned out be another worked piece of obsidian (it was only 3 ft. from where I found the first one). Thinking that my original theory about an ancient hunter losing his spear may be wrong, I started looking more closely at the bank. Not seeing anything, I decided to sit down and admire my new find. As I was getting up, I had a different view of the bank and noticed an obsidian point protruding from the bank. When I dug it out, I found another behind it. That was 2 weeks ago. Over the course of the next 4 days, my dis