Experience and learning curve with different machines hunting old farm homesteads?

gringochase

Nov 2, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello gang. I am relatively new to detecting. I have been using my Ace 350 for a little over a year now and feel like i have a good feel for it. I have found a few silvers and a handful of neat odds and ends. I have a question but let me first give a little background. I live in south texas and have access to a handful of old farmsteads if you will. I have hunted several now and my experience has consistently gone like this:

I get out to the property very excited and have little to no discrimination and start digging almost everything. Within an hour after finding lots of trash, i start marking off lots of ticks on the lower end to narrow my search. By lunch time, I have all but the last three notches turned off so I am only digging "quality" targets. Even then, i still end up digging lots of trash and junk and usually end the day a bit disappointed and frustrated. Large aluminum cans and larger pieces of junk still register as if they were pure silver.

one other thing, I don't have a LOT of time to hunt with my busier life and other hobbies so i am generally trying to find silver coins and other more valuable targets.

So my questions are: 1) am i getting frustrated because of the limitations of my machine 2) would a more expensive machine like the AT Max, once i learned it, produce lest frustrating results or would it be a similar experience 3) is this just the nature of the beast when hunting trashy farmsteads and i need to accept it

Any advice or suggestions is most welcome. I enjoy the hobby and will keep at it but i want to have realistic expectations of my experiences. I also would like to know if more money ( a better machine) is going to greatly enhance my enjoyment.

Michael

Tpmetal

Silver Member
Jan 4, 2017
Western ny
Detector(s) used
equinox 800, Whites mx sport, Garrot carrot, bounty hunter time ranger