aeromed73

Tenderfoot
Mar 19, 2018
South Carolina
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 300
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I hope I am not repeating a common question but I searched the forums and could not find it. I am brand new to this. Just got my first MD last week. Took my sons out with me on our first official "treasure hunt" and kept getting hits in high 70's to low 80's showing at a depth of 8+ inches. This was about 3 feet away from the base of a very large pine tree. Dug down about 6 inches never getting a hit from the pin-pointer. Ran the detector over it and still receiving the same hits and still showing a depth of 8+ inches. I widened the hole enough to place the MD head inside and dug it out to 8 inches. Still nothing at all on the pin-pointer and when I placed the MD onto the bottom of the hole I am still receiving the hits ranging from 77 to 86 and it still shows a depth of 8+ inches.

Am I chasing a ghost? We found multiple old umc newclub shotgun shell heads in the area about 8 feet away.

SittingElf

Feb 25, 2018
Palm Bay, FL, and Air Force Bases in FL and OK
Detector(s) used
Equinox 600, Equinox 800, Garrett Ace 300 (x2 For Wife and Son), Ground Hawg, Garrett Carrot, Minelab Pro-Find 35, SoundClean9 APTX LL Headphones
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If it was me, I'd keep digging. Getting a solid hit that keeps on showing metal under a tree is something I would ALWAYS continue to dig for. The depth indicator is based on a coin lying flat. It does not necessarity indicat the actual depth of other objects. KEEP DIGGING...and let us know what eventually comes up!

ARC

Gold Member
Aug 19, 2014
Tarpon Springs
Detector(s) used
JW 8X-ML X2-VP 585
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Keep digging... until whatever is causing the signal is found... Don't give up.

I will just point out the fact...

The base of a tree is one of the most common spots to bury items for safe keeping.

Also a common place for lost items.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member