Garrett AT Pro suggestions

neodetectorist

Bronze Member
Jan 4, 2016
NE Ohio
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro W Stock coil, Fisher F2 W 8" Concentric and 9.5" NEL DD, XPointer pin pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Can I get some recommendations on settings for an AT Pro.
Please excuse the amateur questions
I mostly hunt schools and ball fields in my area of Ohio.
I hunt a couple patches of woods for relics also.
I am upgrading from a wonderful Fisher F2 That was literally power on and go.
No ground balance needed.
I am new to the ground balance. Is this difficult?

Also can I get battery recommendations?
I have heard lithium work best but what about rechargeable?

Any other advice is appreciated.

alabama11

Nov 23, 2015
north Alabama
Detector(s) used
Garrett Frontiersman, Tesoro Ciboli , Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Pin Pointer 2, Minelab Equinox 800, Panky.
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Hi Mark,
I do not use headphones, but would if near a highway. Afraid someone might sneak up and with headphones on Bop me on the head.
I use all metal on standard mode, discriminate iron at 40. We have a lot of minerals in the soil so it produces false signals randomly.
I Will let another person take over at this point who uses pro setting. Good hunting.

Last edited:

FreeBirdTim

Silver Member
Sep 24, 2013
Scituate, RI
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If you're hunting ball fields and schools, discriminate out anything less than 70. You'll miss out on nickels and gold, but that's okay in the beginning. You'll also avoid digging a ton of aluminum scrap, which will make it more fun with better results. You can use standard coin mode, but you'll do better in the long run if you master pro coin mode.

digger460

Silver Member
Sep 19, 2015
Southeast Grundy, Illinois
Detector(s) used
EQ600, EQ800 and a Carrot
Primary Interest:
Other