BH LRP Guidance

Pripyat

Apr 30, 2018
Sand Hills Forest, SC
Detector(s) used
BH LRP
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm very new to the forum. I just got my Land Ranger Pro on Friday and spent around 4 hours on it over the weekend. I'm completely new to metal detecting. I'm trying to get through the learning curve as quickly as possible as I have about a week to search 5 acres of land I am about to sell. It is extremely trashy. Lots of aluminum soda cans, aluminum food cans, shotgun shells, brass bullet casings, etc.

I have dug maybe 75 objects and the only things of interest were less than $.50 in modern change and a massive steel wagon wheel. The wagon wheel registered strong in the high 90s and was over 24" under water. I kept thinking I had hit a treasure box. Apparently items under water indicate as being more conductive than they actually are?

I've spent most of my time in All Metal and Disc2 mode. Which makes more sense if I'm really trying to learn the detector? I don't want to waste a bunch of time learning a mode that isn't going to be helpful as I become an intermediate LRP user.

Also, are there any videos out there that are particularly useful that teach how to distinguish what items are trash? Seems like unless I know exactly what I'm looking for (I don't) I am just going to end up digging LOTS of holes only to find lots of trash.

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting