An exciting day...

Jay Banta

Apr 17, 2018
Biloxi, Mississippi
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Max
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
1C10F35B-9045-4C62-8259-618685A10120.jpeg 19648B9E-6111-47D8-BED6-CAE3271560A2.jpeg

An exciting day on a pasture.

I had just started hunting a field near me that I had spent countless hours of research on. Pouring over old maps, newspaper articles, personal accounts, and limitless tales of the local inhabitants. All pointing to a campsite of Union soldiers during the War Between The States. I made double sure all my equipment was ready for a full hunt of the field I knew was going to change my look on history and the way I’d look at this lowly unused cow pasture that had gotten sadly overgrown with time. Being a retired soldier myself, I felt I was walking the ground giants had stood upon over a hundred fifty years ago; and I was in awe. My first signal with the machine was a dropped three ringer bullet and I knew I was standing on the right place. A few hundred yards later, I found a holy grail for me; a small thing that many tell me they have never recovered. A snake buckle. I should have left the field at that point because nothing will top that for a long time in my eyes. I shook as I held it for the last man that did, and lost it, had long been in his grave far from here and whose named lost to time. I was elated I had found such a prize in my eyes. I continued with my search of the field having remembered that people would bury their family’s treasure in such a field in order to keep the likes of Gen. Benjamin Butler from taking it from them forever. After hours of walking the field, I hit a great signal again. Strong, high, and deep. My heart fluttered after opening a hole in the dark soiled earth to expose a dark stained, yet shiny, handle with flower designs. Thoughts of silver raced through my mind as I thought of the recovery of old buried fine serving items of a long bygone era. My hand gently extracted the piece from eight