Jul 29, 2017
The Old North State
Detector(s) used
Equinox 600
Tesoro Cutlass
Bounty Hunter Tracker II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
In a past life I worked as a metallurgy technician in a materials engineering lab where I did a lot of different tasks including failure analysis (why did it break) and unknowns identification (what is this gunk). I had all sorts of cool toys including a scanning electron microscope - the ultimate nerd toy. As part of that job, we looked at unknowns for several characteristics including radioactivity (bad, very bad).

That said, I was thinking about the stuff I find when out treasure hunting and got to wondering: have any of y'all ever found anything seriously toxic or radioactive or in some other way dangerous? If so, when did you make the discovery of the danger and were there any negative outcomes?

Again, I'm overthinking everything but am wondering if I need to start carrying my Geiger counter with me when I go dump diving.

RGINN

Gold Member
Oct 16, 2007
Summit County, CO
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
White's DFX, White's Classic 1 Coinmaster, Nokta Pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Very cool you had a scanning electron microscope. Did you get to keep it? I haven't found anything I believe to be very toxic, but here in mining country I know a guy who found a jar of mercury.

Megalodon

Silver Member
May 13, 2018
Maryland
Detector(s) used
White's MXT
Tesoro Cibola
Tesoro Golden Sabre Plus
Garrett ADS Master Hunter 7
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
In my own former life, I used a scanning electron microscope for part of my master's thesis research. Years later, my wife assembled one from a donated truckload of parts. The frequent trips for liquid nitrogen got a little old.

OP
OP
S

Stringtyer

Jul 29, 2017
The Old North State
Detector(s) used
Equinox 600
Tesoro Cutlass
Bounty Hunter Tracker II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting