Hillbilly Prince

Silver Member
Aug 9, 2018
SW Missouri
Detector(s) used
Garrett All Terrain Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This is just idle curiosity. When I was young I loved reading about Indians and mountain men and such.
I remember reading about mountain men caching things for later use.
So I wonder if anyone has ever found an old cache or even an old shelter in the mountains which might have been left by those guys. I can't think a great deal of treasure would be in something like that obviously.

dirtdigginfool

Silver Member
Mar 8, 2014
south central ohio
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
At Pro At Max
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey Hillbilly, I'm no expert on Mountain Men, but one would have to think that if they went on a hunting trip, or a multi-day trip for supplies or simply trekking off to pan gold, that they'd definitely cache their valuables and not just leave them lying out. I can imagine them burying things near trees, rocks, etc...Then you have the scenario of them not returning for some reason or another. So yes...i could say for sure there's probably quite a few caches currently hidden, waiting for someone to come along and discover. Ddf.

Last edited:

GA_Boy

Bronze Member
Jul 30, 2006
Jefferson, Ga
Detector(s) used
BH LRP
1265X,
GoldBug II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Robert Redford found a Hawkins rifle.:laughing7:
On a serious note, I imagine most of the stuff would be deteriorated or rusted beyond use.
Maybe a cave or secluded rock overhang, or possibly a hollow tree trunk would be the place to look.
Marvin

releventchair

Gold Member
May 9, 2012
Primary Interest:
Other
[ Lost fur caches have been found in Cache Valley in recent years - a testament to the dicey lives led by the trappers.]

Heartlinks' Cache Valley Page

Louis and Clark had a cache damaged by water. Wonder what they left there......