The Progression of Coin Finds

N.J.THer

Silver Member
Nov 16, 2006
Middlesex County, New Jersey
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX w/ Sunray DX-1 probe and Minelab Excalibur 1000, Whites TRX Pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm somewhat new to metal detecting with a little over a year of going out 1 or two times a month.

I'm just wondering if my progression of finding keepers is similar to others out there in TNet world.

1st All the junk and the random clad coin.
2nd The clad comes and you need a coffee can to throw it in.
3rd The Wheat penny finds
4th The Mercury Dime phase - I had to find ten Mercuries before I found my first silver Roosevelt
5th Ring phase - started finding rings - went from none to three in a few days.
6th Buffalo and War Nickels - none in over a year of hunting - now four in two in a month

I'm really feel like I'm learning my DFX and it keeps getting better. The more I use it and learn the tones the less junk and more keepers.

I've just entered this nickel phase and I'm wondering if there are any other phases that you have experienced. What do I have to look forward to?

In addition to the above list I'm found silver quarters, halves, a Barber dime, Indian cents, large cents and foreign coins but they did not seem to form any patterns like the others above.

Thanks for reading and happy hunting.

NJ

Jeffro

Silver Member
Dec 6, 2005
Eugene, Oregon
Detector(s) used
Fisher CZ5, White's GM VSat
I don't know about "phases" if you've only been out 24 times or so in a year, but here's mine-

clad, clad, clad, clad, clad, clad, wheatie, clad, clad, clad, clad, clad, clad, clad, buffalo, clad, clad, clad, clad, clad, clad, merc, clad, clad, clad, clad, clad, seated, clad, clad, clad, clad, silver ring, clad, clad, clad, clad, clad, clad, clad, dollar, clad, clad, clad, clad, clad, clad, half, clad, clad, clad, clad, clad, gold rings, clad, clad, clad.

Interspersed heavily with junk, junk, junk, junk. Oh, and nails too. :)