zippi

Mar 28, 2018
Evansville, Indiana
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Land Ranger Pro
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
*Beginners Bad Luck*

I am new to detecting and my first hunt was in the backyard. I found some clad and a Chuck E Cheese token. I have been out now 2 times to hunt and both times have turned up nothing but 2 pennies. I carry a couple coins with me to through down on the ground just to make sure it's working. I do find keys, pull tabs, bottle caps, etc but not good numbers yet that would indicate any nickel's, dimes, quarters, etc. My first hunt was at an old complex that had 3 ball diamonds and down the road was a soccer field and I found 2 penny there and they were in the early 70's. The second hunt was at a local park that is pretty old. I found no coins. Didn't see any numbers higher than 52 on my detector. I know I have the detector set pretty good so am I just having beginners bad luck???

Last edited:

Tpmetal

Silver Member
Jan 4, 2017
Western ny
Detector(s) used
equinox 800, Whites mx sport, Garrot carrot, bounty hunter time ranger
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am new to detecting and my first hunt was in the backyard. I found some clad and a Chuck E Cheese token. I have been out now 2 times to hunt and both times have turned up nothing but 2 pennies. I carry a couple coins with me to through down on the ground just to make sure it's working. I do find keys, pull tabs, bottle caps, etc but not good numbers yet that would indicate any nickel's, dimes, quarters, etc. My first hunt was at an old complex that had 3 ball diamonds and down the road was a soccer field and I found 2 penny there and they were in the early 70's. The second hunt was at a local park that is pretty old. I found no coins. Didn't see any numbers higher than 52 on my detector. I know I have the detector set pretty good so am I just having beginners bad luck???