Metal detector for kids

MackDog

Bronze Member
Nov 20, 2013
Spokane Wa
Detector(s) used
Garrett At Pro, 8 x11" and Nel Storm coils
Garrett Propointer er, Pro Pointer AT
White's V3i Standard, 10" DD, 13" Ultimate and 4 x6" sniper, 6 x10 coils, Drect 12 x 15 coil
Whites MX Sport With Detec
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting

RobNC

Jan 5, 2019
NC
Detector(s) used
EQ800 (Stock Coil), Nokta Legend (LG30/LG24)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I've been detecting since 1973. I want to know what everyone thinks is the best kids detector. I don't mean the cheap junk toy one. I want one that's light shows depth, VDI and would be easy for a 10 year old to learn and use.
Thankyou for any help
MackDOg

Here are some ideas:
Whites Coinmaster
Teknetics Digitek
Garrett Ace 200

Darke

Aug 16, 2018
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
Garrett At Pro
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Robs post has good choices. Considering the Garrett Ace 200 for my 12 y.o. great niece.

RobNC

Jan 5, 2019
NC
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
It's really nice to think that someone young will be getting an intro to metal detecting. All I have to say is please make it worth their while. Even if you have to plant a few coins(some clad stuff) before they get there. That memory will always be with them.
It would instill into them the drive to find more.

Iffy Signals

Sep 17, 2018
Rhode Island
Detector(s) used
Current-Deus & Equinox 800. Past - CTX, F75, AT Pro/Max, F44, Patriot.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My Sons was the Teknetics Digitek. He Loved it, nice and light and they sell a longer bottom stem for when he outgrows that one.

Darke

Aug 16, 2018
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
Garrett At Pro
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting