dougolf2

Apr 27, 2019
Central Illinois
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 400, Teknetics Delta 4000
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hey folks,

I'm fairly new to metal detecting (6 weeks), and I'm enjoying the hobby. However, recently I've been experiencing a numbness, tingling, and itchy feeling in my hands...especially after holding a cold beverage, washing my hands, or touching bare metal. Has anyone else ever experienced something like this?

I've got an appointment to see my doctor, but thought it could be:

A - caused by Lyme disease (possibly bitten by a tick while in the woods).
B - caused by exposure to toxins (digging in dirt where RoundUp or other chemicals were used).
C - caused by the electrical transmission of the detector.

Searching for clues/answer.

Thanks.

13dolphins1

Gold Member
Jul 6, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Use to have a similar issue and ended up being a pinched nerve in my back. Hopefully it's something simple for you and good luck.

BLK HOLE

Silver Member
Aug 3, 2017
Northern Virginia
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
AT MAX/AT PRO/GPX-4500, Equinox 800, Garrett Pro Pointer,NEL Attack Coil, Lesche diggers, and the custom made in the USA Freeloader Pack Mule Pouch!
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
First, welcome aboard. When I saw your post I initially thought you were going to say that it occurred while detecting in which case I would tell you that happens to me occasionally, keeping hand in same position and doing a repetitive motion sometimes pinches a nerve and puts my hand to sleep. Not sure what kind of machine you have but "C" seems really unlikely. Doc will figure it out, good luck:icon_thumleft:

Underwonder

Bronze Member
Jul 31, 2017
RI
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
White's XLT Spectrum, TRX Pin-pointer, Garrett AT Pro Pin-pointer, Eagle II SL with Bigfoot, Equinox 600, Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting