What may be a silly question

Eandltreasure

Jul 15, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys,

So I've been hunting with my humble f22 for a few months now and have been having a blast. Some old coins, relics from unlikely places, and of course silver and a few white gold items.

Recently however, I dug out from 4- 5 inches down a 14 k gold 1/4 carat men's ring. Had it cleaned and looked over at a jeweler who gave me a a quick value. $1500. No bad.

Of course I know I won't get that for it, beautiful as it is, but I simply don't know where to get top value. I don't want to sell something like this in eBay, Craigslist is a big no, and of course pawn shops are out.

So my question. Where do you guys sell your big finds?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Deep1

Dec 30, 2018
Carolina Lowcountry
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Nox 800, Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II, Poor ole wore out Fisher 1266 that still finds stuff.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What the jeweler gave you was retail or insurance value.
Contact the jeweler and ask for wholesale value and how much he would buy the ring for.
That will give you an idea what a realistic value is.
There's not many alternatives to selling jewelry
Private sales can be iffy.
Pawn shops are not going to give you anywhere near wholesale, you won't even get scrap value.
Over the years, I sold some of my better quality stuff to a local jeweler at wholesale. This is your best bet.
Or you can try an online buyer.
Not recommending, just an example:
https://www.worthy.com/sell-jewelry

OP
OP
E

Eandltreasure

Jul 15, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Yes, he said I could probably get 3-600. They make their own jewelry there ,so I'm not too sure they'd buy it, but I'll double check.

smokeythecat

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2012
Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting