How to find places to detect?

Zadiecat

Greenie
Mar 2, 2017
Georgia
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm fairly new to detecting I still have alot to learn. I could use some help on how to find places to detect. I'm not sure how to find old house sites or civil war related sites or how to approach getting permission on private property. I'm located in Georgia around bartow county if that helps any. I'd love any advice :)

ArfieBoy

Silver Member
Aug 11, 2011
N.E. Oregon
Detector(s) used
Compass X-70, Compass X-80, Compass X-90, Compass Judge 2, Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Go to your local library and borrow any book on beginning metal detecting. I will give you all the information to get you started and finding places to detect. Good Luck!

Georgivs

May 16, 2018
Athens Georgia
Detector(s) used
Garret AT pro
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Lol books won't help you get permission/find where it is legal to hunt. Start with local parks, check out https://library.municode.com/ga for local ordinances governing MDing/digging in parks. Avoid state and federal parks. Ask your friends if you can detect their yards. If you have a yard start there. Put a post on your social media that you are looking for places to dig. There are also forms available on the forum for seeking formal permission but most people I've talked to are like, sure knock yourself out, show me what you find and fill your holes.

joe_dirt

Jan 15, 2013
Southeast Virginia
Detector(s) used
Teknetics T2, Makro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting