Another beginner advice thread

TroveRyan

Tenderfoot
Jul 18, 2020
Westminster, MD
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hey there, so Ive read quite a few threads here and I'm sure these questions have been asked before. But there is SO much info out there I want to get my feet wet on this forum anyway so I'll go ahead post this.

I am brand new to metal detecting and the first step is to get a machine. It seems like the Simplex would be a good beginner choice. I live in Maryland and will be coin and relic hunting locally, but also want to be able to hit the beach from time to time and maybe some shallow water areas, so I like the waterproof feature of the Simplex.

My questions are: Is the Simplex my best bet, or should I hold out for this new Garrett Apex I'm reading about? How much difference will multi-frequency make for a beginner? Accessories recommended? Headphones or no?

Also, any suggestion on best vendor to purchase from? Any deals out there?

Thanks all!!

gunsil

Silver Member
Dec 27, 2012
lower hudson valley, N.Y.
Detector(s) used
safari, ATPro, infinium, old Garrett BFO, Excal, Nox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting