Is this ok

~MetalDigger~

Oct 20, 2007
North Carolina
I'm wandering does this hurt the coil, or keep it from picking up. I dont really think so, but I'm no MD expert. I cant see buying a cover, to make it look pretty longer. Most of the scrachs are just scuffing the surface, and not deep gouges. I try not to bang it around on big rocks. So I guess if it damages it latter on, maybe I can get a 9x12 coil. But I'm not rich, so I dont play on upgradeing it any more thanthe rain/dust cover that I bought for my ace 250.

If I upgrade it will be to a minelab. ;D

Attachments

• ace 250 coil.jpg
    ace 250 coil.jpg
    100.5 KB · Views: 349

thompy

Bronze Member
Feb 19, 2005
Menominee, Michigan
Detector(s) used
T-2,
those scratches wont hurt, could get a coil cover, i dont like covers they tend to pick up sand an can mess with your detector, so if you get one dont forget to take it off and clean it at times

diggerfororo

Jul 29, 2007
Missouri
Detector(s) used
Fisher CZ6-CZ20-Whites surf PI
Hi Marty:

I don't like coil covers either. Here is a little trick you can do to protect your coil and help with wet grass. Clean the bottom of your coil with armoral every time you go out hunting. This will protect plus make your coil slide in the grass really smooth. You will be suprised how easy the coil moves in wet grass(no drag at all). I also use it on my digging tools and dirt doesn't stick. \\Keep on diggin

Les

rebelLT

Feb 26, 2007
SE Kansas
Detector(s) used
Explorer SE PRO, XLT, Teknetics Omega
NO! Thats not OK! You need MANY MORE scratches on the bottom of your coil. You obviously havent been swinging that metal detector enough. 8) I have this XLT that I have owned since before christ was born. Never had a coil cover and never has the coil failed. The bottom is worn smoth...........No problem with the scratches.

rommelvon

Jul 21, 2007
no worries, just keep an eye out and make sure no gouges go all the way through the coil, water will get in and cause havoc

windrun