lots of trash

sqwaby

Apr 13, 2008
Having trouble discrimminating out the trash with my ace 250. Wether I'm in coin, relic, jewelry or custom mode, and I set up the elim on each mode. I still keep hiting pull tabs and alum bottle caps. Tabs and caps all have the same tone as pennies and clad, kind of a ding. Any suggestions. I'm fairly new at this, only about 6-8 hrs time. Also some times I get a signal and when I dig there is only oyster shell to be found (oyster shell was used instead of gravel along the coast years ago). I'm thinking that there was probably a concentration of salt with some of the shell, and its the mineralization causing the signal.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
As for the disc of the trash that has the same conductivity as the good targets, there isn't much you can do about that. Gold rings also are in the same range as pull tabs. Even with a screen the detector only reports what the conductivity of the target is and the ID isn't always accurate.

As for the shells setting off the detector, it could be extra salt and black sand that was dumped there with the shells. It might help to turn down the sensitivity lots. It will still have good depth and it could help some with proper id of the targets.

Good Luck,
Sandman

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2