Garrett Ace 250 Usage ?

Jonathan65

Greenie
Dec 24, 2007
Northwestern New York
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
I am new to detecting, and the Ace 250 is my first unit. Before taking it in the field yesterday for the first time, I studied the manual, reviewed the the instructional DVD several times - doing dry run practices and "setting" the unit's modes for a beginner per recommendations.

Before actually starting in the area that I chose to start scanning ( a desolate zone where a 1920's dance hall and tavern existed - all buildings removed and left to grow in with nothing else on the land for 27 years,) I placed a penny, dime, nickel and quarter on the ground about four feet apart to check the reactions of my unit. It identified each coin's value. Okay - everything is working according to my settings per instructions sensitivity, mode, etc. Time to try it for real.

I pinpointed areas showing only a variety of coin denominations 2"-6" down on my read outs. When I dug and sifted at those depths, I found no coins. But, I did uncover a variety of metallic debris objects - pieces of broken pipe/ conduit, steel, copper and aluminum, nails, nuts and bolts, and bottle caps.

Even though my detector's read out showed an individual coin present, without jumping all over the place showing the objects that I did in fact find, is it possible that my unit was so confused that it elected to settle for a "coin?"

Any thoughts on what I may have missed, or just was not paying attention to during the excitement of it all? I am too inexperienced to troubleshoot this, or playing around with advanced settings beyond my ability at this juncture. I am not the least bit discouraged, just a little frustrated.

Your comments are more than most welcome.

Regards,

Jonathan

gregl01

Apr 19, 2005
land of the free-taxed to death
Detector(s) used
Whites M6
Nokta Fors CoRe