Coin Movement

boodydarn

Mar 26, 2008
Auburn., Al
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Time Bandit, Garrett Ace 250, DFX
As a semi-soil scientist, I would be interested in knowing how and at what speed different coins of different metals travel through various soil types. Does anyone know? I think they would travel from fastest to slowest in the following order: sand, sandy loam, loam clayey loam, loamy clay and Clay. I also realize that the amount of rain and freezing would affect the rate of travel. It rarely freezes in Alabama so I can discount freezing. I guess you could use annual average rainfall as an adjustment on each soil type to compare between soil types. I assume also that denser coins would move faster. Now this would be a good life-time dissertation project for some professor who needs to kill 30 years or so. lol But what I really want to know is in 1966 you drop a clad dime and a silver dime, and/or quarter, How much deeper would the silver be in 40 years compared to the clad on each soil type? I could set up the experiment for anyone (young) who wishes to take this on.

Here at Auburn one of our research fields has been cared for since the beginning of WWII. It contains beach soils from all over the earth. Its purpose was to test various landing vehicles on these soil types.

Just wondering...Boodydarn in Alabama.

RHoward

Mar 1, 2008
Martin City, Montana
Detector(s) used
Garrett-GTA1000, Money Hunter BFO, Minelab E-Trac & Garrett Pro Pointer