So where is all the old stuff, and how does new stuff get so deep?

Groovedymond

May 23, 2006
Salem, NH
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter - QuickSilver
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello All,

So, i'm still new at this, but have had pretty decent success for this past week. Over $4.00 in clad. My only problem is that a few spots that I visited SHOULD have produced something old... yet it was all modern. I'm beginning to wonder... when you find something old, how deep is it? Perhaps my no-name detector isn't strong enough to find the deep stuff?

ALSO... how in the H*LL does a 2003 quarter end up at 2 inches down in the park? I mean.... if a coin drops 1/2" per year into the ground, that tells me that a merc should be at what... 9 feet!??!? lol

bakergeol

Bronze Member
Feb 4, 2004
Colorado
Detector(s) used
GS5 X-5 GMT
I think most people will tell you that coin depths here in the US vary from site to site in undisturbed soil. Just look at all the incredible finds made back in the 60's with the depth limited BFOs. It is just a question of stable versus unstable soil. Finding recent clad coinage 10" in unstable Florida sandy soil is par for the course. Whereas some stable soil areas you may find 100 year old coins at a inch of two.
Personally I found areas in which coin depths varied at each site according to where it was dropped. Originally I recovered old coins right on the surface in gravel or cinder areas which were stable soil areas. But the prime grassy areas I drew a blank. Later when deeper detectors came out I revisited the site and recovered coins from these grassy areas that had sunk deep and were too deep for my old detector.

George

Weasel_Loader

Feb 16, 2008
California City, Ca
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer CTX 3030
I asked this same question on another forum and it's basically what George said.