metal detectors

mamabear2

Jun 26, 2008
I am new to this and I have a question about metal detecting. Is it true that the more expensive the detecting equipment the better chance I will have at finding something or does it depend on where I go? I know that Florida's coastline has thousands of sunken spanish galleons and after a huge storm such as a hurricane the treasure sometimes washes up on the beach. Any suggestions? I live in Florida.

bearbqd

Bronze Member
Jun 20, 2007
Shenandoah Valley
Detector(s) used
Minelab EXP II w/ Sunray X-1 probe, Garrett AT Pro/Propointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
As with other quality items, you pretty much get what you pay for in metal detectors. I personally wouldn't spend less than $500 on a new detector. Then again, you can get top of the line ones used for around that sometimes, especially on ebay. You just have to do some research on equipment first, know what you want, and be careful with who you deal with on ebay. Just look for a very high percentage of positive feedback with no negatives in last six months and you should be ok. If you stick with the major brands like Minelab, Whites, Fisher, Tesoro, or Garrett you should be fine. Florida is a great place to comb the beaches, especially after hurricanes. You could get lucky with a cheap detector and find some stuff near the surface, but I would rather have a quality machine that I know is sniffing deep. Hope this helps.

warsawdaddy

Gold Member
Nov 23, 2004
Edwards,Missouri
Detector(s) used
MXT - DeLeon - Gamma 6000
It's good you live in FL.The dealers there will be able to tell you which detectors can handle the wet and dry sand and saltwater.Not all detectors can do that regardless of price.Goodluck and welcome to the forum.

Kellyco

Oct 10, 2007
Winter Springs, Florida
Detector(s) used
Everything in Kellyco's Showroom!!
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting