In Illinois, trying to figure this one out. . .

Siwash

May 31, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
P5310002.JPG

I just don't know what to make of this. Is it just a funny rock? Has what may (or may not) be a notch on the fat side, and a thin side that doesn't look chipped out, although there's a chip or two in it. Fits the hand nice. What the heck?

P5310001.JPG

P5310003.JPG P5310003.JPG

P5310004.JPG

P5310005.JPG

OK. Thoughts?

DiggerKid2003

Jul 5, 2014
Spotsylvania VA
Detector(s) used
Garret At Pro, Garret Pro Pointer, Wireless Z-Lynk headphones.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Where did you find it? Field? Creek? Digging up a garden? I'm not very good with the native American artifacts but I believe it's natural. Hopefully others chime in and give a better assessment.

Greg Lafla

May 30, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Yes probably an artifact appears to show facial imagery and a possible petroglyphs? In one pic. Don't be afraid to share all you have noted about the piece or let the dissenters cause you to doubt yourself. As the only one to hold it in your hands and see it through eyes and not a screen you are the best judge

OP
OP
S

Siwash

May 31, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I found this is a small creek bed. I can't make out any figures, but there seems to be some circular depressions.

Greg Lafla

May 30, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It had taken me years to only start to believe what my eyes are seeing so it won't come all at once. Try dim lighting as these were probly made to view fireside. Also close one eye as lack of depth helps to see the forms. When the piece starts to shine back at you you will start to be able to see the artists intent. Keep looking for more far easier to find these than arrowheads where I am at. Any more questions I'll be happy to answer but kind of a rookie to this weirdo stuff as well

Greg Lafla

May 30, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting