Need help to identify anomaly in GPR radargram. Void or not!....

ThomasJ

Apr 5, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello. I would like to know the forum opinion on the below radargram, if it shows a void or not. The numbers above are distance in meters, and the vertical scale is 0 to 30 meters. The profile was created with a MALÅ GX 160 Mhz (range about 16 meters max, before noise). My guess for the soil is packed earth mixed with small rocks. Or pure bedrock.

We scanned as we are looking for archaeological anomalies. We did not just scan at random but information have lead us to this place. We are looking for a "back filled" cavity. I'm not a pro radargram reader, but does it not look like "settled" earth have left a cavity at the roof section of a back filled larger cavity? Maybe water filled? This "cavity" is located at about 10 to 12 meters depth?

I would really appreciate input from people with experience reading radargrams. If not a void, then what is it?

Radargram showing a possible void.jpg

Doubter in MD

Bronze Member
Jan 18, 2013
Maryland
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm not your guy. It looks like a picture of a pond to me.

OP
OP
T

ThomasJ

Apr 5, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
ok.. do you mean that the black and white striped area in the middle is a water filled cavity? Or what do you mean with pond?

Doubter in MD

Bronze Member
Jan 18, 2013
Maryland
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Sorry. I meant it looks like a pond. Ripples on the top of water. I was trying to be funny. I am sure someone with some expertise will weigh in.

jwatkins

Greenie
Feb 17, 2015
Texas
Detector(s) used
We deploy multiple electromagnetic instruments that include EM31, EM38, EM61...
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What part of the country was this in? GPR can really on see down 5 feet or so....There is no way it can see 30 meters!

gmradar

Mar 21, 2014
Primary Interest: