How to find old ghost towns?

ragu

Dec 8, 2009
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
I am just getting into this whole hunting business. Just started by trying to search old city maps and area maps (which seems nearly impossible) for my area. I did find two REALLY old area maps, which name a city which no longer exists. The accuracy of the old maps is questionable as to exactly how far this city was from the closest one to it. Seems like there were nearly touching by the old maps. I am unable to find anything of any substance which talks about the city. Just a few references.

When I look at google maps, bing birds eye from town to town i find nothing between them which would resemble the old town. You need to know I'm in farm country and I'm sure the old town has been plowed under long ago. Any hints of where to find old maps of Minnesota? the oldest aerials I have found are from 1939 and I cannot find any evidence of the town there either.

austin

Gold Member
Jul 9, 2012
San Antonio, Texas
Detector(s) used
Garrett 250
Primary Interest:
Other
If you google ghost towns of minnesota, there are websites that list them with their locations. If you cannot find a map online, go to your largest public University, go to Special Collections in the library and ask the librarian in charge for maps showing old ghost towns. They may also have old photos. I am betting that most of these towns are now on private property, but who knows. One of the reasons that you probably can't find or see the town you are looking for is that people in the new town may have taken most of the old town with them. Anyway, good luck.

lastleg

Silver Member
Feb 3, 2008
Sound like your town was swallowed up by the town nearest on the map. Whatever was there is still there, just covered up.

OP
OP
R

ragu

Dec 8, 2009
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250