Black Sands?

Aug 27, 2005
I was wondering if the presence of magnetic black sand is an indicator of possible gold presence or if it is just an indicator of proper panning procedure. I am quite new at this and really need help. I have found a sandy stream with exposed bedrock. There is a HUGE amount of magnetic black sand in this stream. I haven't had the chance to go back there since taking the small sample due to the excessive rainfall in the area. I live about an hour south of Atlanta and have never heard of anyone finding anything here so I don't know if it is even worth looking. Also, what should I put in my panning backpack? I have 2 goldpans, hand shovels and picks, magnets, vials, and gallon zipperbags for taking concentrates back with me. Am I forgetting anything?

thank you very much for your help

Upvote 0

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My Understanding is Where there is Gold There IS Black Sand.

But Where there is BLACK SAND, There MAY be Gold.

Of Course I may be Wrong on the First Part.

I'm no Expert Either.

Jeff

AzSports

Feb 16, 2005
Tucson, Arizona
Detector(s) used
White's Gold Master, Garrett Infinium
These is a gold belt running thru GA up north, I don't know exactly where.
Get under that black sand and keep panning!

aarthrj3811

Gold Member
Apr 1, 2004
Northern Nevada
Detector(s) used
Dowsing Rods and a Ranger Tell Examiner