Any pointers on Ohio Gold?

Axgar

Sep 23, 2005
Columbus, ohio
I am new to the idea of gold prospecting. .. good news is .. just for giggles i made my own pan with ridges in it out of a pie tin. and made a simple sluice as well and in the creek behind me found some small flakes .. (( strangely shaped at that .. kinda curled like it was shaven.. )) 1. is there a way to test if it is real.?? good news is that most water ways in ohio are public as long as they are navigatable by kyak.

I plan on getting a better pan cause the gold is so fine around here and my sluice box is working pretty good. lots of black sand ...

any good ideas on a begginers dredge.. one-two person operation perfered.

ok thanks and good hunting.

Axgar

Upvote 0

nebraskadad

Jan 8, 2005
Axgar,

first, to stave off discouragement, I'd buy a decent pan. I'd recommend at very least getting a Proline Gold Catcher or Garrett pan.

Gold is heavy, don't confuse Pyrite or Mica with Gold. Gold has a specific gravity of 19.8 where Mica has an SG of about 3.

Gold is malleable not brittle.. If it powders up more likely it is Leaverite (leave it right where you found it.)

You can put a drop of Nitric acid on it, if it fisses it's not Gold. You'll know what gold is when you see it. I'd recommend buying some "real dirt" to play with from Felix
http://www.felixpaydirt.com/

Gold is where you find it. (or where it's been found before) Ohio is known for fine glacial gold, If you found pay dirt work your dirt and keep it mum.

If the gold stuff goes to the bottom of the pan, when you stratify it in water by moving the pan in a circular motion then it may well be AU.

If you are interested I'd recommended starting by Joining the GPAA it's a good place for beginners to start, they supply a video, pan and places to go for $80.00.. try it for a year and see how it goes. http://www.goldprospectors.org/
The panning video is excellent. and the pan is the Proline mentioned above.