panning in illinois

tlbm9902

Greenie
Jan 6, 2006
I am new to prospecting, I am hooked on the gold shows. I have property in coal city illinois, there is a good amount of sediment dumped on the property years ago from when the strip mines in the area were dug. There Is a good size stream that branches off of the mazon river that runs through the property. Is there any gold to be panned in this area or is the area sound favorable to find gold. any help would be great, thanks in advance

Tony

Upvote 0

Axgar

Sep 23, 2005
Columbus, ohio
howdy neighbor, being here in ohio had many of the same questions. The best thing to do is look for clubs in your state on the gpaa web site .. google your area for gold related links .. and best of all ..

Just get out ther dig some holes and pan it out ... ( if it were only that easy. ) I do it for fun and relaxation. not to get rich cause here in ohio the gold is very very fine.

things to consider..

How big is the stream .. wide.. deep .. volume .. that will tell you some what how far the gold might move in recent floods... look on the INSIDE bends of turns mid way through .. and around obsticals..

take some pictures to look at when teh water is low and high .. that will give you an idea how the currents run .. and you are looking for fast to slow water movement

I just got into late last year . and found a lil bit of gold .. i plan to get more and find me a nugget ..!!or two .. or three ..hehe ..

you can check out my lil bit of info here at my web site.. http://www.chameleons-blinds.com/bones.htm

if you find black sand that is good if you find black sand then gold that is even better.

Best of luck and welcome to the gold bug club .. hehe

Axgar

Attachments

• family  gold 015.jpg
    family gold 015.jpg
    71.4 KB · Views: 1,544

SHERMANVILLE ILLINOIS

Gold Member
May 22, 2005
Primary Interest:
Other

welcome to the forum.

Not into panning myself; do know the Mazon basin and Coal City area.