RIVER OR STREAM????

mattisdell1983

Mar 31, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys, just curious... do you prospect in a river or a stream and/or tributary? I am brand new at this and it seems like the very small stream has yealded 2 specs of flour gold but when i go to the "gold rich" river I find nothing. Do you guys have any pics of where you would normally prospect? Still photos of a stream and point to where the gold is most likely to be? Thanks for the help, Matt

p.s. I have been studying how to read rivers and streams but I have a hard time trying to picture what it would look like at flood level lol. here are some pics i took from where i was digging (behind the big rock) (and on the bank), Your input on where it looks good to prospect in these pictures would be greatly appreciated though, thanks.

Attachments

• gold.jpg
    gold.jpg
    191.5 KB · Views: 847
  • gold 2.jpg
    gold 2.jpg
    191 KB · Views: 537
  • gold 3.jpg
    gold 3.jpg
    212 KB · Views: 442
Upvote 0

Hoser John

Gold Member
Mar 22, 2003
Redding,Calif.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Gold miners make the bedrock ,be it lake,river,stream that's where 95% of the work has been done for you by good ol'mother nature by concentration-tons a au 2 u 2 -John

TheHarleyMan2

Bronze Member
Feb 27, 2008
Never Know I May Live Next To You!
Detector(s) used
GTI 2500/Bounty Hunter
Minelab Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The big rock is promising on finding gold directly behind it as an eddy would be formed by the river flow current. One way to look at where maybe the flood stage is to look at both sides of the bank and look for evidence that water has risen to that level. Generally look for small downed trees, foilage, etc that would show signs of being knocked down by the force of water.