ultra fine flour gold recovery from black sand

M3R1IN

Oct 6, 2006
Alberta, Canada
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX, stock and DD coil
hey, im from alberta and i dont have trhe luxury of any coarse or decent sezed flake gold out here, its all flour gold
I dont really wanna screw around with mercury, but i can see there is some really fine gold mixed with the black sand in my pan
but i cant seem to get it to settle out and seperate. Anyone have knowledge of how to seperate the black sand from the flour gold?
keep in mind here im a poor college student
thanks

Upvote 0

Nashoba

Bronze Member
Sep 20, 2006
Washington and Oregon
Detector(s) used
Garret Ace250/Prospecter Bounty hunter(Backup)
M3R1IN said:
hey, im from alberta and i dont have trhe luxury of any coarse or decent sezed flake gold out here, its all flour gold
I dont really wanna screw around with mercury, but i can see there is some really fine gold mixed with the black sand in my pan
but i cant seem to get it to settle out and seperate. Anyone have knowledge of how to seperate the black sand from the flour gold?
keep in mind here im a poor college student
thanks

If you are in that not so rich category, see my ast post in the micron filter thread. It's simple but time consuming.
~Nashoba~

buscadero

Bronze Member
Jul 16, 2006
Corpus Christi, Tx.
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
For Cheap, you can't beat the Henrys Poop Tube! We used it up in Nome! You can buy it from the GPAA for around $40! or make it yourself!
6-8' of 4" plastic corrugated flex drain pipe (cut in half length wise)
same length of 1" X 4" board
Fasten with flat head metal screws (silicone ea. one) Try to put the screws toward the sides, not at the very bottom.
Pound a couple of nails at the top end to hold the hose.

To Test: Elevate top end approx. 1" per foot higher than bottom w 5 gal. Bucket at end.
turn hose on slow. Put 1tsp of concentrate slowly into water stream at top.