prospecting legalities

gmichels

Sep 2, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am doing research on a fiction story and would like to make it somewhat realistic.

I have no experience in prospecting nor do I know anyone who does. That's why I came here. I have tried researching the internet and the info is confusing.

Question: When prospecting (the Dakotas or Colorado), on open public land, assuming that a small quantity of gold is found, does the prospector have to file a claim? If not, does he have to prove where he got the gold (to show he found it on public land and not from some other claim)?

Is there a limit to how much gold can be sold from prospecting?

If the gold is sold to a refinery or other such business, is there withholding for the IRS and if so, how much?

many thanks8-)
gmichels

Upvote 0

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am doing research on a fiction story and would like to make it somewhat realistic.

I have no experience in prospecting nor do I know anyone who does. That's why I came here. I have tried researching the internet and the info is confusing.

Question: When prospecting (the Dakotas or Colorado), on open public land, assuming that a small quantity of gold is found, does the prospector have to file a claim? If not, does he have to prove where he got the gold (to show he found it on public land and not from some other claim)?..