Prospecting the amrican river in sacramento

mjarvis

Jan 4, 2013
Gold river
Detector(s) used
Bounty hunter. Whites MXT, whites pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Has anyone out there prospecting the American river in Sacramento?? I'm new to it all and I didn't want to waste my time if nothing has traveled that far down the river. I live just beyond the nibus dam and I'm very curious if anyone has tried any panning or detecting along it. Any answers would be helpful and suggestions on where I should prospect the American river.

Thank you guys!!

Upvote 0

Fullpan

Bronze Member
May 6, 2012
nevada
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
While there is lots of gold (under your feet in RC) in the American, downstream of Nimbus, it is too small (pin-head size and much smaller) and too widely
scattered to be profitable for "mom and pop" ops. There might be a one-in-a-million chance of finding a nugget, but you are just a few miles(think anywhere
above Folsom in elev.) for decent sized (flakes and larger) gold. I'm sure you've seen the posts from guys back east that are getting "fly poop" out of glacial
deposits just for fun and exercise. They would be overjoyed to be in your location, and know that they're within an hour's drive of gram nuggets and larger.

okbasspro

Jan 14, 2012
Chickasha,Oklahoma
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
While there is lots of gold (under your feet in RC) in the American, downstream of Nimbus, it is too small (pin-head size and much smaller) and too widely
scattered to be profitable for "mom and pop" ops. There might be a one-in-a-million chance of finding a nugget, but you are just a few miles(think anywhere
above Folsom in elev.) for decent sized (flakes and larger) gold. I'm sure you've seen the posts from guys back east that are getting "fly poop" out of glacial
deposits just for fun and exercise. They would be overjoyed to be in your location, and know that they're within an hour's drive of gram nuggets and larger.