New guy here, Thought Id show you all my trommel I recently built

oldmanjeffers

Feb 8, 2013
Somerset, CA
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
New guy here, Thought I'd show you all my trommel I recently built

I've already introduced myself in the new members area and thought I would show my trommel here with some details, I am very new at all this and am welcoming any input. I will be firing this thing up tomorrow and putting it through it's paces. I hope to be able to record my adventures here and bounce any ideas, problems and experiences off you all.

Here is link to a video of my double barrel trommel being test ran in the garage, I'll post some video of it in action ASAP.

[video]http://s1097.beta.photobucket.com/user/oldmanjeffers/media/photobucket-9303-1360211632434_zps9db67c9e.mp4.html[/video]

I used two old oxygen bottles , a 2.5 HP motor and a Borg-Warner 45:1 gear reduction, My screen is 3/8 mild steel and I have 1/4 X 1" flat bar on edge in the barrels to help break things up. I am using 3/4 black pipe all the way around the hopper and for the inside spry bars so it will take a beating, Some day I plan on feeding this with a mini excavator. I want the ability to control the water flow under the barrels feeding the sluice box's so I installed three gate valves. The trommel pan is placed in a compound angle so all the classified material will flow to a 2" hole that then will drop into two sluice boxes mounted back to back. I will be using a 2" trash pump to feed the water to the machine. All the water can be regulated via gate valves, and a ball valve, I can also control the RPM's of the trommel barrels by adjusting the idle of the motor or if we get into some real bad clay I have a smaller pulley and belt ready for the gear reduction to slow things down a bit.

In theory this thing should be able to digest 10 yards a day... We shall see! LOL

Upvote 0

Aurabbit79er

Oct 29, 2012
Southern California
Detector(s) used
A cheap little Bounty Hunter