Where is My gold going? Need Help on Smelting!

wingsfan98

Jun 10, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am a newbie here. I have been prospecting for a couple of months and have been lucky enough to find a nice gold vein area. Testing several areas by myself and others has continually resulted in an 18-24k quality.
I am trying to smelt the gold I recover. I have been doing a 2 oz bottle of the recovered fines at a time. My first attempt was with just Borax. My second attempt was with the recipe from the gpaa (5 parts borax, 40 parts silica sand, 10 parts soda ash and 20 parts sodium nitrate).
Both times resulted in the same thing...

It was nowhere to be found when you poured!

Help! Where is the gold going? What am I doing wrong? I am using Oxy-Acetelyne. Do I fire into the crucible or just heat the outside? Is my gold burning up? Where is it going? Is it being trapped inside the glass? I have been heating for 15-20 minutes and everything is turning bright white. Where ever it went, can it be recovered?

HELP!

Any advice would more than be greatly appreciated.

Upvote 0

chlsbrns

Bronze Member
Mar 30, 2013
Detector(s) used
Excalibur II
Primary Interest:
Other
I am a newbie here. I have been prospecting for a couple of months and have been lucky enough to find a nice gold vein area. Testing several areas by myself and others has continually resulted in an 18-24k quality.
I am trying to smelt the gold I recover. I have been doing a 2 oz bottle of the recovered fines at a time. My first attempt was with just Borax. My second attempt was with the recipe from the gpaa (5 parts borax, 40 parts silica sand, 10 parts soda ash and 20 parts sodium nitrate).
Both times resulted in the same thing...

It was nowhere to be found when you poured!