Anyone know a good area at Lynx Creek, AZ that you are allowed to use a sluice?

Keithray

Jun 18, 2013
Arizona
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Upvote 0

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Easy tip for Lynx Creek (and a lot of other places) ...walk further from the parking lot to find better gold. Simple as that.

jcazgoldchaser

May 8, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Easy tip for Lynx Creek (and a lot of other places) ...walk further from the parking lot to find better gold. Simple as that.
He's asking where to sluice, not just where to find gold. Much of lynx is pan only.

[edit]
I'm new to gold prospecting and just went on my first prospecting trip with my wife and kids and panned for gold at Lynx Creek for a few days. We found a little gold but I would really like to use my sluice for better results. Everywhere I looked it was either private property or there were signs saying you can only pan,:dontknow:
http://forums.nuggethunting.com/index.php?showtopic=7994

This shows 'out of bounds'
http://www.azod.com/goldprospecting/Family%20Prospecting%20at%20Lynx%20Creek.htm

Arizona forum
http://www.arizonagoldprospectors.com/invision/index.php?/forum/2-gold-hunters-forum/

Last edited:

killian110

Dec 16, 2007
NC
Detector(s) used
Garrett Infinium LS
You would have to get permission to use private property or find someone to let you on their claim. Sluice boxes are banned in Lynx Creek in the public access areas. Even though information says Prescott National Forest allows panning, hand prospecting and metal detectors, below the high water mark. Prohibits any equipment that requires a generator or engine.