image-2241891545.jpg
    85.4 KB · Views: 248
Upvote 0

B H Prospector

Feb 2, 2010
Black Hills, South Dakota
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Your 500 should be big enough. That is the size I use on my blue bowl. Have you run any material through it? That is the true test. Just remember you can't run anything larger than -30 in it.

Good Luck!

BH Prospector

OP
OP
I

improvmechanic

Jan 5, 2013
A quick update:

Being a mechanic I should have though of this, my battery was dead. At 500gph I actually had to turn the flow down. That'll make you feel sheepish.

Thanks for the info, I was only classified to 1/8", so significantly too large. I'm not very well set up on the classifying side, 1/8" is my smallest screen. If I was to run my cons through a window screen do you think that would be small enough? My first scoop revealed a lot of very fine gravel and some bright metallic silver things just big enough to see with the eye. I'm guessing flour lead as I found lead shot in the mats.

fowledup

Silver Member
Jul 21, 2013
Northern California
Detector(s) used
Whites GMT V/SAT
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Mine has a 750pm. I have never needed to run it full throttle. Why do you suspect your pump is not big enough? Disregard slow Tyler at work.

I run mine on the charger itself without a battery.

Last edited:
OP
OP
I

improvmechanic

Jan 5, 2013
Not a bad idea, but ineffective for me I'm afraid. My charger only goes down to 5amps for a trickle charge. The fuse on my pump is only 2amps. Gotta have the battery to soak up the extra juice.

OP
OP
I

improvmechanic

Jan 5, 2013
I am having issues getting it to sit level because its an aluminum dish and the hose is weighing the one side down. I'm thinking using tape weights (like for balancing tires) to add a counterweight on the underside.

fowledup

Silver Member
Jul 21, 2013
Northern California
Detector(s) used
Whites GMT V/SAT
Primary Interest:
Prospecting