looking for some help gold panning

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Watch videos on YouTube to get panning tips. Get the book "A Guide to Gold Panning in Utah" by Alan J Chenworth ...great detailed info on where to go all around the beautiful state of Utah. I have it and love it!

Practice panning with lead shot/shavings including very very small bits of metal.

goldhog

May 14, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I live in vernal,UT and want to start panning for gold. I am completely new to this so any help or advice would be greatly appreciated, also looking for someone in the area to help if possible.

Listen to Kevin's tips, they are good ones.
I have always said great miners are great panners.
For most, it starts with the pan and ends with the pan, regardless of the production level you are running.
Also, the better you become at panning... the less cleanup equipment you will need.
I put up some finishing videos here... How to Pan for Gold
Doc

QNCrazy

Sep 30, 2013
Motherlode, CA
Detector(s) used
Gold Bug Pro
I recommend Doc's videos. I watched them over and over then practice, practice, practice. You get better with time.

OP
OP
U

utah_ty

Tenderfoot
Oct 16, 2013
Thanks all, is there a regulation to when u can pan gold? Like a season or something?

KevinInColorado

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2012
Summit County, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Grizzly Goldtrap Explorer & Motherlode, Gold Cube with trommel or Banker on top, Angus Mackirk Expedition, Gold-n-Sand Xtream Hand pump
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I recommend Doc's videos. I watched them over and over then practice, practice, practice. You get better with time.